Week 13- Artist Conversation- Laura Lopez

Artist: Laura Lopez

Exhibition: Selvatica 

Media: drawing and painting

Gallery:  CSULB School of Art, Werby Gallery

CSULB student Laura Lopez is working towards her Masters of Fine Arts in the School of Art’s Drawing and Painting program. Unfortunately, Laura was not there when I visited her exhibit, so I did not get the chance to ask her any questions. All of my information on her is based on what she wrote in her summary.

Laura’s work displayed in the gallery was very nice. She about six paintings spread around a four-wall room. It seemed as if she used all paints on a regular canvas to create her pieces.

Based on what Laura wrote in her summary, she says that the inspiration behind this exhibition is the jungle. She said, “I have always admired the way nature builds and creates all sorts of life forms that are interconnected and grow together as a whole organism in natural ecosystems.” She is exploring the growth of various colors and patterns through nature.

I absolutely loved Laura’s work. It was one of my favorites this semester. I loved all the colors she used and the different patterns she worked with. She had used many different vibrant colors that I loved. Her work is definitely something I’d buy and put in my house. I’m so glad I stumbled upon her exhibition and saw her work. I would love to see more of her work one day.

Leave a Reply

